The Development of a Cloud-Based Intelligent Learning System  
System Architecture


Architecture of this Cloud-based Intelligent Learning System

This C-iLearning system has three layers:

1. Visualization layer, which displays the interface of different devices when they share the same applications with same logic and data.

2. Learning application layer, which provides abstracted and unified logic of learning. This layer has the most important intelligent learning engine and the statistical and analytical engine.

3. Data and logic Layer, which unifies distributed data from different devices.

The three layers consist of several core components, which all reflect the main characteristics of cloud computing: elasticity, resource pooling, abstraction, and virtualization. Elasticity (resource scaling up) and resource pooling are the core characteristics of cloud computing (Hirsch & Ng, 2011). The heart of cloud computing is abstraction and virtualization set on top of a dynamic distributed server architecture, which provides user with great flexibilities to create, share, save, and collaborate from anytime anywhere. Currently, there are three models of cloud computing: Infrastructure as a service (IaaS), Platform as a service (PaaS), and Software as a service (SaaS).

The network that provides resources is known as the "cloud". From users' perspective, resources in the cloud can expand infinitely and are accessible anytime, through on-demand use and pay-per-use.


IE9.0 is Recommended for Viewing
Copyright by Shanghai Open University. All Rights Reserved.